System of 5 elements, or the theory of 5 Mahabhut.

Many of us are familiar with system of elements based on Chinese system which became popular due to horoscopes  «Year of the Water Tiger», or «the Fiery Bull». «Water», «Fire» — names of elements are similar to the Tibetan system, but despite external similarity the Chinese and Tibetan systems of elements have very various maintenance, describe different levels of life and they cannot be considered identical.

Components of the Tibetan system is «5 Great Elements», or «5 Mahabhuta» — Earth, Water, Fire, Air and Space. Here they are traditionally listed as density reduction.

It is not necessary to confuse substances of the earth, water, fire to concepts of Elements in spite of the fact that words naming them coincide. In water substance in the seas and the rivers contains not only first element of Water; in soil — not only an element of Earth, in atmosphere — not only Air element. There are always all five elements in all phenomena of our world: water also contains Fire element it can be with different temperature; the element of Earth and Air can be shown in it in a different measure: ice — firm (is more than Earth element), steam-gaseous (Air and Space elements). That is, in everything that we perceive always participate all elements. It is said that if in any phenomenon one of the elements is absent we do not perceive it.

Some researchers of the Tibetan medicine name Elements «world bricks», but this materialistic understanding and it is inexact. Elements are an expression of various functions, various qualities of phenomena of the Universe. They are not a material; they are something that characterize function and materials, and non-material phenomena. The theory of 5 elements is absolutely universal and with its help it is possible to describe all interactions, including of course health and disease. One Tibetan scientist projected it even on an atom structure: the weight of atom — is Earth element, a charge of electron — Fire, electron’s movement — Wind, bond of a kernel and electron — water, distance between them-Space...

Everything that expresses the qualities of density, weights, stability — it is qualities of Earth element; everything fluid, elastic, cooling — manifestation of Water element; all is hot, sharp — manifestation of Fire; all mobile and easy – manifestation of Air; the element of Space makes room for everything, contains all 4 elements in itself.

(See below the table «Quality of elements»)

It is possible to describe a character of the person by means of elements (steady, easy, «hot»); it is possible to characterize seasons — damp, windy; to define properties of food-easy, oily, heavy, dry.

Diseases are also described by characteristics of Elements. There are diseases of cold and heat, the qualities of some Element intensify in various conditions: strengthenings of Air element is expressed by intensification of mobility, for example, the person cannot sit for a long time without movement, he has a lot of thoughts; by the intensification of Fire element raises temperature of a body, etc.

Thus the health is considered as a balance of Elements, and disease as its disorder. Therefore the motto of the Tibetan medicine is that: «Health is a balance of (elements) ».

This balance of elements of our body is constantly influenced by various factors-elements from «outside». These are elements of foodstuff, elements of seasons, elements of a way of life. Knowing, what qualities of elements prevail in that or this phenomenon, we can know how it will influence us, and therefore we can use this knowledge for balance restoration. For example, with increase of the Fire element in our body, we can use foodstuff with cooling qualities of the Water element. Thus, for balance restoration, that is for healing, we select the element with a quality-antagonist (see № 2. «Qualities antagonists»).

№ 1. The Qualities of elements.

The qualities of the Earth element The qualities of the Water element The qualities of the Fire element The qualities of the Air element The qualities of the Space element
Heaviness

Dullness

Softness

Oilness

Hardness

Dryness

Viscosity
Liquescence

Coolness

Heaviness

Dullness

Oilness

Flexibility

Humidity

Softness

Viscosity
Warming

Oilness

Dryness

Hardness

Easiness

Oilness

Mobility

Maturing

Brightness
Mobility

Easiness

Coolness

Hardness

Porosity

Hardness

Penetration

Impermanence
All-penetration

 № 2. Qualities antagonists

  • Easiness (Air element) — Heaviness (Earth element of the Earth)
  • Sharpness (Fire) — Dullness (Earth)
  • Heat (Fire)  Coldness (Water)
  • Hardness (Air)  Oiliness (Earth)

Etc.

Система 5-ти элементов, или теория 5 Махабхут.

Многие из нас знакомы с системой элементов по китайской, которая стала популярной благодаря гороскопам на «Год Водяного Тигра», или «Огненного Быка». «Вода» , «Огонь» -названия элементов сходны с тибетской системой, но несмотря на внешнее сходство китайская и тибетская системы элементов имеют очень различное содержание, описывают разные уровни бытия и их нельзя считать одинаковыми.

Составляющие тибетской системы — это «5 Великих Элементов», или «5 Махабхута»- Земля, Вода, Огонь, Воздух и Пространство. Здесь они традиционно перечислены в порядке уменьшения плотности.

Не нужно путать субстанции земли, воды, огня с понятиями Элементов, несмотря на то что называющие их слова совпадают. В субстанции воды в морях и реках содержится не только первоэлемент Воды; в почве- не только элемент Земли, в атмосфере- не только элемент Воздуха. Во всех явлениях нашего мира всегда есть все пять элементов: вода содержит и элемент Огня-она может быть разной температуры; в ней может быть в разной мере проявлен элемент Земли и Воздуха: лед -твердый (больше элемента Земля), пар-газообразный (элементы Воздуха и Пространства). То есть, во всем, что мы воспринимаем всегда участвуют все элементы. Говориться, что если в каком-то явлении нет хоть одного элемента, то мы его не воспринимаем.

Некоторые исследователи тибетской медицины называют Элементы «кирпичиками мира», но это материалистическое понимание и это неточно. Элементы — это проявление различных функций, различных качеств феноменов Вселенной. Они- не материя; они — то, что характеризует функции — и материи, и нематериальных феноменов. Теория 5-ти элементов абсолютно универсальна и с её помощью можно описать все взаимодействия, включая конечно здоровье и болезнь. Один тибетский ученый спроецировал ее даже на строение атома: масса атома- это элемент Земля, заряд электрона — Огонь, движение электрона — Ветер, связь ядра и электрона-Вода, расстояние между ними-Пространство.

Все, что проявляет качества плотности, тяжести, устойчивости- это качества элемента Земли; все текучее, упругое, охлаждающее- проявление элемента Воды; все горячее, острое — проявление Огня; все подвижное и легкое- проявление Воздуха; элемент Пространство дает место всему, размещает в себе все 4 элемента.

(см.ниже таблицу «Качества элементов»)

Можно с помощью элементов описать характер человека (устойчивый, легкий, «горячий»); можно охарактеризовать сезоны- влажный, ветреный; определить свойства пищи-легкая, маслянистая, тяжелая, сухая.

Болезни тоже описываются характеристиками Элементов. Есть болезни холода и жара, при различных состояниях усиливаются качества какого-либо Элемента: усиления элемента Воздуха проявляется усилением подвижности, например, человек не может долго спокойно сидеть без движения, у него много мыслей; при усилении элемента Огня повышается температура тела и т.п.

Таким образом здоровье рассматривается как баланс Элементов, а болезнь как его нарушение. Поэтому девиз тибетской медицины таков: «Здоровье — это баланс (элементов) ».

На этот баланс элементов нашего тела постоянно влияют различные факторы-элементы «снаружи». Это элементы продуктов питания, элементы сезонов, элементы образа жизни. Зная, какие качества элементов преобладают в том или этом явлении, мы можем знать как это на нас подействует, и следовательно можем использовать для восстановления баланса. Например, при увеличении в теле элемента Огня, мы можем использовать продукты питания с охлаждающими качествами элемента Воды. Таким образом, для восстановления баланса, то есть для исцеления, мы подбираем элемент с качеством-антагонистом (см. № 2. «Качества антагонисты»).

№ 1.Качества элементов.

Качества элемента

Земля
Качества элемента

Вода
Качества элемента

Огонь
Качества элемента

Воздух
Качества элемента

Пространство
Тяжесть

Тупость

Мягкость

Маслянистость

Твердость

Сухость

Связуемость
Разжижаемость

Охлаждаемость

Тяжесть

Тупость

Маслянистость

Податливость

Влажность

Мягкость

Связуемость
Согреваемость

Маслянистость

Сухость

Жесткость

Легкость

Маслянистость

Подвижность

Созреваемость

Яркость
Подвижность

Легкость

Прохладность

Жесткость

Пористость

Твердость

Проникаемость

Непостоянство
Все-

проникаемость

№ 2. Качества антагонисты

  • Легкость(элемент Воздуха) — Тяжесть (элемент Земли)
  • Острота(Огонь) — Тупость (Земля)
  • Горячесть(Огонь) — Холодность(Вода)
  • Жесткость(Воздух) — Маслянистость(Земля)

И т.д.